Stephen Doyle

I was introduced to Stephen Doyle’s paper sculptures through a Creative Review e-mail. I then followed their link to his company (Doyle Partners)’s website (link here) and looked through their work. I am a Creative Review subscriber and I find the regular e-mails are a great resource and constantly show me new interesting and varied work from designers, illustrators, artists and others around the world.

Here is some of Stephen doyle’s paper sculptures and work done by his company:

This is an interesting piece and a strong statement. I like the use of the book, however, think it would have been a nice touch to use the book the tank was made out of to stengthen the metaphor.

Here is another book paper sculpture. The complex interweaving structures remind me of Salvador Dali’s staircase paintings. I think what makes these sculptures so visually arresting is how well done they are. They are extremely neat and considered. Craftsmenship can often make or break a piece and it is certainly made in this case.

This is another of the sculptures which is made in a different way. I find this one interesting, although not as much as the others. I think this is partly because, in comparison to the previous pieces it does not seem to require as much craftsmenship or time. Also it does not have the charm of the printed pages. However I imagine if I saw it separately from the other pieces I would have been more impressed.

This is a Doyle Partners’ identity for a ‘green’ hotel. It is a simple but great idea. The identity instantly conveys the connection to nature of the hotel’s ethos and gives the impression of a natural and friendly, yet clean and considered environment.

This is a cover for David Byrne’s Look into the Eyeball album. It changes as you look at it from different angles so he ‘winks’ at you as you walk past. As the Partners’ website points out, this is a good ploy for a retail environment as it should catch the eye. It reminds me of souveniers I found fascinating as a child, which is part of it’s appeal. It is interesting to see a modern company using such a relatively old technique, and I think they have used it successfully to give the cover a surreal quality.

This is a spread from a photography book designed by Doyle Partners. I think it is just as a photography book should be – with full emphasis on the images themselves.

Leave a Reply

